Finger Paints

9/1/14

Today’s project was improvised. We were supposed to paint outside. I was going to lay out an old white sheet and let the boys have fun with loads of paint. I imagined lots of messy fun.

Since I’m dealing with the dreaded first trimester nausea and exhaustion and because the weather was a little dreary and windy I decided indoor finger painting would be better. Since my 1 year old likes to eat paint I made edible paint. I modified a recipe from Teach Preschool where instead of using cornstarch I used arrowroot powder instead.

Ingredients
1/2 cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder
1 1/2 cups water
Food coloring
Directions
Add all ingredients to a saucepan and heat stirring until mixture thickens.

It ended up being more like slime.

IMG_0371.JPG

IMG_0379.JPG

Leave a Reply

